Let SCOM check for Updated Management Packs

21 Apr

The challenge

Using the SCOM native console the import from the Microsoft Management Pack Catalog is a nice feature. I like also the feature to check and import updated MPs that you have already imported in your management group. But what I really miss and don’t understand : why did the product team removed the monitor that gives us a alert when a new MP version is in the MP catalog ?. This monitor was build in MOM 2005 but removed in the begin of SCOM 2007.

The solution

So since we are SCOM author diehards we are going to build our own MP update monitor. I am going to use VSAE to build it all. But wait even if you aren’t a SCOM author diehard it still worth reading this post because this time I will share the VSAE project and even the MP with you at the end!!!

Analyze

So I used my good old friend ‘Fiddler’ to backward-engineer what the scom console is doing when I press the ‘check for updated management packs’ button. It seems it sends a SOAP request to a webservice. The SOAP request contains a MP list of the MPs that you have already imported. The answer result of this request will be a MP list with the updated MP versions or an empty list if there aren’t any updates for you.

Building time

Below I’m going to give you a overview what I have done. You can look in the VSAE project for details on it. If you have any questions just let it know and I will help you out.

1) The datasource

So now we are going to make a datasource that runs a PowerShell script. This PowerShell script is simulating the webservice request.

Below a snippet of the code. (the full code is in the VSAE project). What I am doing here are 3 steps:

1) Build a SOAP request message that contains all my MP version meta data from all MPs that I have already imported in my management group.

2) I call the “ManagementPackCatalogWebService.asmx” and execute the method “FindManagementPacks”

3) as last step I check if there are any MPs returned and set the $Status flag according the result. And I return the scom property bag.

# step 1

$MPSoap = get_MP_List
$ret = Do-SOAPRequest -SOAPRequest $MPSoap -URL $MPCatalogURL -SOAPAction $SOAPAction

# step 2

## show MPs that have a Update
$MpList = $ret.Envelope.Body.FindManagementPacksResponse.FindManagementPacksResult.CatalogItem | where { $_.IsManagementPack -eq $true} | select-Object DisplayName

# step 3

## check MP returned

if ( $MpList.Count -eq 0)
{
$Status=”UPTODATE”
}
else
{
$Status=”NOTUPTODATE”
}

  # Create the property bags
$pb = $oAPI.CreatePropertyBag()
$pb.AddValue(“Status”,$Status)
$pb.AddValue(“MpList”,($MpList | Out-String))
$pb

The script above we are going to use in the datasource below

image

2) The Monitor

Now we are going to compose a 2 state UnitMonitorType that uses this datasource. The health state check is done with the “Status” value in the returned property bag.

image

Having this UnitMonitorType composed we can now use it in the real monitor KPI. See below for the KPI. The target is the Management server. I choose this target because I have only one MNG server in my test lab but if you have more it’s better to choose the RMS emulator target.

image

Now when the monitor is unhealthy it will generate an alert message constructed below:

image

 

The result

Building and importing the MP in your SCOM management group will show you the result below:

image 

And of course a nice ALERT message also:

image

 

So now the part you are waiting for..

As promised I will share the VSAE project and the MP it self. Please notice that it is a show case alias prototype MP and so it is far from complete. For example not all display strings are applied and no knowledge is supplied. But that’s up to you to complete…. In my production version I have even build in a recovery/console task that also automatically imports the updated MPs.. Just a idea for you to work out…

MP download: http://sdrv.ms/XPl38e

VSAE project download: http://sdrv.ms/YDUn7T

The End

Feel free to comment or contact me if you have any questions.

Happy SCOMMING

Michel Kamp

6 Responses to “Let SCOM check for Updated Management Packs”

  1. web videos June 10, 2013 at 15:01 #

    Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your site
    is fantastic, let alone the content!

  2. cgfootman July 28, 2016 at 15:34 #

    Hi The links don’t seem to work anymore, are you able to update?

  3. Mirv May 11, 2017 at 05:28 #

    How’s things?, sometimes I get a 404 site error when I browse this webpage. I thought you may wish to know, cheers

Leave a Reply

