Touchdown : ScomExcelWorkbook V2 is released

28 Jan

Hi Community,

After some delays I have finished the V2 version of the ScomExcelWorkbook.
See old  V1 post here: http://michelkamp.wordpress.com/2012/11/25/scom-and-excel-a-perfect-couple/

New features

1) More types to query

The types below can now be used in the Type column:
Events
Objects
Alerts
Performance
TaskResults
Discoveries
Rules
Overrides
Monitors
ManagementPacks

2) Combine data on same sheet

When you make a pivot table from a SCOM data sheet you will notice that if you want to combine data of 2 data sheets into one pivot table it will be a challenge to get it work. So I have made a feature that you can append data to one SCOM data sheet. The only thing you will have to do is to use the same sheet name and type in the query rows. See below for a example.

image

3) Extended Properties

Since I was too lazy to hard type every property name in a column I made it dynamic. Cost me some time to get the object type casting generic but again I learned a lot more of C# reflection.  And that’s what I do it for “learning on the job”.

4) Optimization

As always , some speed-up and code simplifying was done.

 

Okay nice but how to get it…

In my V1 version I decided to only give the download to people that did a PM. I have had a lot of PMs and good responses. This was great but took a lot of time to process. So now I will publish it on my public SkyDrive link below. But you are free to leave me a comment I really would appreciate that.

https://skydrive.live.com/redir?resid=2FFA0FC5B0B89EED!1363&authkey=!AOoo44wQmagQyOI

Download it and give it a try. Please please let me know if you like it or have suggestions/problems.

O yea before I forget:

The sheet contains sample query’s you can delete every line after row 4.  And put your own ones in. Some help can be found here:

https://michelkamp.wordpress.com/2012/12/12/your-scom-sdk-query-cheat-sheet/

 

Happy Scomming,

Michel Kamp

6 Responses to “Touchdown : ScomExcelWorkbook V2 is released”

  1. gerrielouw April 9, 2014 at 11:07 #

    Hi, this is awesome, however can the spreadsheet be enhanced to include more hours for performance and also include the servername in the output??,

    • Michel Kamp April 10, 2014 at 07:43 #

      Hi,

      You can specify any parameter in the select clause. See the SDK sheet for this.

      At the moment I am not going to make a new release , just don’t have the time now.

      As soon I have finished (after teched usa) the SCOM Oracle RAC monitoring Management Pack I will take a look at it.

      Michel

      • gerrielouw April 11, 2014 at 05:03 #

        Hi,, can you email me the code maybe and then i can make the changes.

      • Jim DeVries May 15, 2014 at 13:51 #

        Michel, thanks for your work on this. I do want to second gerrielouw’s request – I was hoping to create a table of logical disk free space, but as it stands, there’s no indication of which server owns each disk instance returned.

      • Michel Kamp May 15, 2014 at 13:59 #

        Hi,

        The fullname (alias full path name) should have the parent name.

        Michel

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

